Task 2: Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that authorities ought to work on preventing various sicknesses by reducing pollution in our environment. This essay strongly agrees with the statement because it means people will have access to fresh air and clean water, which will improve their overall health.

The first main reason why the government should reduce pollution is that individuals can breathe fresh air. Air pollution is one of the main reasons for numerous diseases. Nowadays, many vehicles can be seen on the streets, and they release carbon dioxide, which causes air pollution. To solve this problem, authorities should provide a systematic public transportation system so that they can minimize the usage of cars and motorbikes. For example, in the UK, citizens can travel long distances by using trams which use electricity instead of fuel, so they can reduce air pollution.

Another main reason is that citizens will have access to clean water, which is responsible for preventing various illnesses. Dirty water brings many problems to our immune system and causes stomachache and other diseases. Some can be deadly and cause terminal health issues. In some parts of the world, water pollution is a huge problem for many individuals, especially in developing countries. For instance, people from South Africa face numerous illnesses and death due to the usage of unclean water.

In conclution, Government sould focus on reducing pollution because it means people can breathe the fresh and use clean water, which are vital for survial.