Task 2: Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since industrialization began, humanity has long contributed to all types of environmental contamination, which does not solely affect wildlife. It is therefore claimed that governments ought to prioritize pollution reduction as well as addressing housing-related problems in an effort to decrease a wide range of illnesses. I totally support the aforementioned assertion as poor housing and contamination are the root causes of many diseases.

There is no denying that air pollution has a profound effect on human health. Due primarily to increased volume of car traffic and manufacturing plants, the volume of toxic substances and hazardous elements in the atmosphere has risen significantly. As a result, people, especially in cities, have to breathe the contaminated air on a regular basis, which translates to serious illnesses including but not limited to lung cancer. Unless necessary measures are taken on time, not only will the persisting issue further develop leaving thousands, if not millions with various diseases, but also places a considerable burden on healthcare systems.

Then there is inefficient housing which seems to expand the issue far beyond physical health. It is true that numerous people over the world still reside in substandard housing conditions which even fail to provide general necessities and most lower-class individuals usually have to live in overcrowded situations with their extended families. As a consequence, inadequate housing may well lead to chronic stress and regular anxiety among financially- disadvantaged members of a society. Besides, poorly ventilated homes tend to increase the risk of respiratory illnesses as well. Given that housing insecurity disproportionately affects the overall well-being of the population, it is suggested that policymakers aim to address housing shortages and prevent lower-income groups from exposure to both mental and physical deterioration of health.

With all that in mind, we cannot afford to undermine the influence of pollution and housing problems on health as all the toxicity in the environment directly affects the human well-being, while access to adequate housing can significantly improve quality of life. So, I believe governments should focus on prevention of health problems in lieu of merely investing in treatment measures.