Task 2: Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial debate as to whether the government’s critical goal should be the prevention of ailments or mitigating issues related to air pollution and housing. While disease prevention is undeniably important, I firmly concur with the view that governments should predominantly focus on tackling problematic issues caused by air pollution and poor housing conditions.

For one, air pollution is one of the inevitable problems facing today’s globalized world. This pressing issue exacerbated by industrial emissions and vehicle exhaust can significantly affect people’s health, resulting in the widespread spread of a variety of respiratory diseases, such as asthma and bronchitis. Governments can mitigate this issue by enacting strict regulations, and promoting the use of renewable energy. As a result, not only do such measures prevent pollution-related ailments, but they also enhance overall quality of life.

Secondly, housing quality is another concern affecting both mental and physical health. This problem stems from poorly erected houses and apartments which lack ventilation and heating systems. As a consequence, people become susceptible to various infectious ailments, such as tuberculosis and this deteriorates diseases like asthma. Inadequate housing opportunities also trigger stress and a lack of privacy among people, which ultimately leads to mental issues. Therefore, governments ought to give priority to the construction of reasonably priced and well designed houses, especially for those from disadvantaged backgrounds.

In conclusion, though the prevention of some diseases may yield benefits, I am of the opinion that it is imperative for governments to solve problems relative to air pollution and inadequate housing in light of the reasons mentioned above.