Machines are replacing humans in the manual workforce. Do you think the positive effects outweigh the negative effects?

There is no denying that nowadays humans are gradually being replaced by machines in terms of manual labour positions. While this trend causes some short-term negative effects to the workforce, I do believe that it still brings some great benefits that are irreplaceable.

On the one hand, it is justifiable that machines could bring long-term value in many ways for some businesses and companies. Not only does it bring a great value regarding time, but it also guarantees safety for workers. Most machines are working with high productivity in the long-term. Unlike humans, they are not strictly limited by physical well-being and fatigue. Moreover, a number of occupations demand a high accuracy and involve many risks, which could cause some unintentional accidents. As a result, in lieu of employing human workers, mostly companies and businesses may transform them into a more new sustainable approach, replacing modern equipment instead of labour workers, simultaneously beneficial for business and human safety. This acts as a perfect springboard, opening up many opportunities for some businesses and companies successfully developing in the future.

On the other hand, this does not mean that machines do not lead to any worrying consequences, mainly comes to the rate of unemployment and financial crisis. Firstly, when it comes to unemployment, low-skilled laborers just always work repetitively in the short-term, which means they can not perform tasks with great speed and accuracy unlike machines. Hence, it may hugely impact on workers and trigger a rise of social evils. This means some desperate individuals might turn to crime and alcohol abuse due to lack of stable income, exert a profound impact on both society and economy from the country. Secondly, with regard to the financial crisis, most small companies are unable to afford the cost of machinery and the long-term maintenance expenses. As a consequence, it would negatively affect their stability, driving some small businesses into bankruptcy because of the debt accumulations. Finally, it causes a domino effect, then gradually mitigating the development of the country.

To sum up, although machines can also trigger some problems in the rate of unemployment and financial crisis, I firmly believe that its long-term benefits regarding time and workplace safety far outweigh these drawbacks. Consequently, the best solution is that the government should offer more jobs that are irreplaceable and special training programs especially for low-skilled workers to guarantee the comprehensive development of the country.