With the rise of advanced facial recognition technology, some cities are considering implementing widespread surveillance systems. Do the advantages of increased public safety and crime prevention outweigh the disadvantages to personal privacy and civil liberties?

In today’s technologically advanced world, many countries, especially in Asia, support the utilisation of facial recognision technologies in rural and public areas to further ensure safety, prevent crime and provide protection. While this phenomenon raises a lot of questions regarding personal privacy, from my perspective, the advantages greatly outweight the disadvantages.

A significant amount of individuals are concerned about the idea of governments’ taking advantage of these technologies and argue against systems enhancing their knowledge about their citizens’ private lives. These problems may occur and hold some validity, nevertheless, the advantages of facial recognision technologies in cities offer a wide range of positive effects.

Crime prevention is one of the most crucial part of the justice system, since decreasing vandalism, brutality and agression makes it possible for governments to shift their focus on different matters, like environmental problems and international diplomacy. Facial recognition devices create a sense of guardianship, since individuals may feel like they are being watched and therefore are less likely to commit crime. One of the most efficient tool of crime prevention is the promise of pusihment.

Catching criminals is a hard and time-consuming task, howerer with the help of facial recognition technologies, matters like this could be much more sufficient. Scanning public areas , such as malls, parking lots, parks or crowded streets, with these devices helps the justice system catch law-breakers more efficiently.

In conclusion, while there are a lot of controversy around facial recognision technologies, and a lot of these state valid concerns about privacy and individuality, it is important to take into consideration the possible beneficial impact that they may have on a society and it’s safety.