With the rise of advanced facial recognition technology, some cities are considering implementing widespread surveillance systems. Do the advantages of increased public safety and crime prevention outweigh the disadvantages to personal privacy and civil liberties?

Most countries use face identification technology in public areas to enhance security. This essay will demonstrate how this equipment may certainly decrease the level of criminal cases but will also show how it can disturb people’s peace in public spaces every time. Although this issue is a significant one, the essay argues that the advantages of this surveillance system do totally outweigh the disadvantages.

One of the main advantages is that facial recognition technology may considerably help police or other groups of individuals to find criminals in a short period of time. The facial traits of the dangerous people may be recognised with this system easily and without massive resources. Not only do people rely on the police, but also on this modern technology, such as smart cameras. For instance, in 2014, one murderer was found in my city incredibly quickly and without enormous effort.

However, some individuals do not prefer to be filmed. If they are caught on such cameras, they will feel a bit uncomfortable. The main reason might be self-confidence or just not desiring to be on the news, these people called non-public personalities. As an example, my friend, named Sarah, avoids all videos and photos because of her fear of being on the internet.

In conclusion, although some people might feel uncomfortable because of the surveillance system, it does greatly help the government to solve difficult crimes without big spendings and massive effort. Hence, the positive effects of facial recognition technology definitely outweigh the drawbacks.