With the rise of e-books, some people believe that printed books will become obsolete. Do you agree or disagree? Provide reasons and examples to support your opinion.

In this digital era, we can see multiple developments in our day to day life, one of them are the e-books which are currently replacing the printed paper books. I strongly agree that the usage of paper books will be stopped soon because of saving trees to protect the ecosystem and easy access of e-books when compared to printed ones.

By stopping the usage of paper books, production of papers will decrease causing the reduction in cutting the trees. Also, as a contribution to the nature, people around the world started planting small trees and saplings as part of Green revolution activities, conducted by multiple NGOs and private sectors to protect our environment. As per the latest report, usage of trees have been reduced by 40% post introducing digital e-books around the world.

Most of our new generation youths are more into digital technology which is leading to the usage of e-learning materials due to it’s ease in access and availability. Hard copies can be destoryed easily as compare to the digital e-books which can be stored in cloud storage. One of the best example is that Sri Lanka has taken an initiative of recording their old age literatures which were written more than 5000 years ago, in digital to keep them secure from any disasters or riots.

People around the world are reducing the usage of printed books and getting used to the digital platform which can cause the printed books to vanish in the upcoming generations. We should encourage more digitalization so that we can help in saving the nature and create an eco-friendly environment.