With the rise of personalized medicine and genetic testing, some argue that health insurance companies should have access to individuals' genetic information to tailor premiums based on predisposition to certain diseases. Others believe this would lead to discrimination and unfair pricing. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the increase in personalized medicine and genetic testing, certain individuals argue that help insurances should focus on people with genetic risks while others believe this could be unfair. While personalized insurance could improve healthcare I strongly believe that its potential for discrimination outweighs the benefits.

On the one hand, genetic tailored insurance offer significant benefits to people with low genetic risk for certain disease conditions as this gives them access to lower premiums, making health insurance affordable for them. Moreover insurance companies could use genetic information to provide targeted preventive and protective measures that tailored to individual needs.

However, this phenomenon has potential downsides. One major concern is genetic discrimination, individuals with higher risk of hereditary condition such as sickle cell and heart problems could face higher premiums or denial to access care. This could create inequities and discrepancies in social and economic sectors potentially leading to depression. Additionally, genetic data is sensitive, and insurance companies having access to individual personal information can breech privacy and security. For example employers can use this information to pass unfair judgment based on a person health risk.

In conclusion, although genetically tailored heath issuance can offer more personalized and cost effective care, the risk of discrimination, inequality and privacy violations are too significant to ignore. Therefore I largely disagree with the idea of using genetic information to determine insurance coverage, instead policies should be aimed at equal access to preventive and restorative health care services without penalizing individuals for their genetic makeup.