With the rise of remote work, some argue that physical offices will become obsolete. Others believe that offices are essential for collaboration and company culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree that physical offices will remain important in the future?

In this modern era, the emergence of remote work has sparked diverse perspectives. While many individuals and I contend that physical workplaces will be rendered useless, which will allow workers to balance their professional and day to day life as well as curtailing traffic in metropoliatan areas, others believe that offices are crucial for teamwork, company culture, and teaching less experienced peers.

On one hand, it is undeniable that with this development in working culture, individuals will have more time for themselves, their loved ones and their hobbies. In other words, because less time will be spent commuting from a persons’ house to their office, they will exert less physical effort and rejuvenate their mental health by practicing their beloved activities. This is best exemplified by teachers in Kuwait during the COVID pandemic, who reportedly felt less stress and exhaustion during online classes, because they were allowed longer breaks to spend time with their children. In addition, if more workers stayed at home instead of going to work, there will be no need to drive their cars during rush hours, as the same work could be done at home. Therefore, what can be said is that not only will remote work reduce the physical and mental strain on employees, but also it will assist with road rush hours.

On the other hand, one detrimental effect of this phenomenon would be the lack of social cohesion in the workplace. This is because professionals would very rarely meet their peers and foster relationships with them, if they do not meet face to face. As a result, senior employees would be unable to embark on their knowledge and experience to their junior peers, resulting in a gap in maturity and expertise.