With the rise of remote work, there is debate about whether companies should prioritize hiring the best global talent regardless of location or focus on local candidates to support local economies. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The currenr landscape of workforce has provided employers all around the globe with two options: to maximize revenue by hiring the most suitable talents for the job remotely or to optimize local jobseekers to support national development.

Hiring remote workers benefits employers as it broadens the options to recruit the best talents of jobseekers from across the globe. In a lot of industry, particularly relating to computer and software, there are barriers to entry for best graduates who are Valedictorian or Salutatorian in the Global South to breakthrough to the job market from the most resourceful companies in the Global North because of visa and permit issue. For example, in the job portal of Formula 1 teams, which are mainly headquartered in the United Kingdom, obliges a mere applicant to have residence and working permit to even apply. Moreover, with the option to recruit and employ remotely, companies can reduce the cost of sponsoring employees the visa and any other mandatory permits.

On the other hand, with the current mass unemployement trend increasing in both Global South and Global North, supplementing national economies through employement must also be accounted for. While the Global North jobseekers, who arguably go through better education system than those of Global South, hiring the Global North jobseekers is not a sound decision for the Global South companies, as it will be counterproductive to national development program. Hence, in light of the current situation, the priority of employement should be to hire local jobseekers, especially in the entry-level and medium-level positions.

Conclusively, although remote working expands employers’ options of the best talent, hiring the best talent locally in consideration with national economical condition is the most considerate decision that employers can make.