Work-Life Balance: In many countries, people are working longer hours. What are the causes of this? What can governments do to address this issue?

Nowadays many people are working longer hours daily in various countries. This essay will discuss the reasons and will provide probable solution to it.

Firstly, as work pressure is increasing in various fields like IT sector, Government, people are trying to meet deadline by working for extra hours. If people fails to complete the work within the stipulated time period they may get fired. Due to this insecurity of loosing jobs they prefer to work for more hours. Secondly, everyone fears that they can get replaced by someone if they do not work properly with extra efforts. Third reason is there is lack of skills among people. Because of less skillset people cannot do work efficiently. For example, marketing people need to spend extra hours on presentation if they are unaware about using tools like canva. Some people have to improve their financial condition by working extra to get insentives and can fulfill their family needs.

This issue can be solved by the government by providing good pay scale to all workers to fulfill their basic requirements. Another solution is to provide free training to employees to improve their efficiency at work. Furthermore, government need to set common rules for all the organizations regarding no work with extra hours and if someone violates rules they need to punished.

In conclusion, I believe that if people are self disciplined, adhering to the time table at work, following it on daily basis, and government provides sufficient salary according to the position, it may help society and no one need to work for extra hours.