Write a contribution to a website blog about language learning, describing your own experience of learning foreign languages and making recommendations about best methods.

In this age of internet and modernisation, mundane lives in the society are allegedly filled with challenges which contribute to the enhancement of an overall accomplishment in an individual’s life. To tackle the unforeseen challenges, one has to be equipped with multiple 21st century skills in addition to mastering foreign languages. As one of the linguist-wanna-bes, I will have been learning English as a foreign language for over 20 years by next year and admittedly, language learning is a never-ending process.

As I waltzed through my language journey, a realisation has come into my mind that language learning somehow conforms to art. I have had my fair share of language trainers and instructors throughout the whole process, yet, not every teacher has the same method of teaching the same grammar, vocabulary and skill-based tasks. My first ever experience could be described as horrific and disastrous due to the instructor not having enough training and expertise. Only when my mother switched her out with another experienced teacher from a renowned university did I take a breather and my language learning journey had a smooth sail onwards until my university.

Undoubtedly, I have been labeled as an English expert and a walking dictionary because of my profound knowledge in manipulating the language as required in various scenarios. Learning English, like art, requires patience, perseverance and creativity to use it to the fullest for communication. One of the best ways to learn new vocabularies is to memorise with flashcards and use them back colloquially, whilst grammar should be learned and practised repeatedly for better use of standard English. Receptive skills like reading and listening are acquired through daily academic studies, whereas productive skills like writing and speaking can be ground through practice. Classes and practice sessions are a must or if you want to, you can even get a private tutor.

Thus, no matter how our experience may differ in acquiring a language, there are always methods suitable and tailored for all of us.