Write about the following topic. The media pay too much attention to the lives and relationships of celebrities such as actors, singers or footballers. They should spend more time reporting the lives of ordinary people instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Today, social media focuses too much on celebrities’ private lives. However, a lot of people believe that more time should be spent on reporting the lives of ordinary people. I mostly agree with this opinion.

In general, society likes to spend time on gossip news, but in my opinion, it is non-essential and just a waste of time, because it does not have an impact. While the community reads fresh news about their idols, they earn money from readers’ views. From my point of view, the private lives of famous people should be personal, and articles on their relationships are not significant and cannot benefit society. Knowing about a singer’s, actor’s, or model’s personal life cannot enhance the level of people’s lives. Furthermore, news like this cannot raise the number of educated people and obviously cannot solve the world’s major problems.

On the other hand, the media can report on ordinary people, such as volunteers, teachers, doctors, and journalists, and can publish really big deals like taxes, salaries, or news, which would motivate others, for example, achievements or somebody’s success. For instance, reading an article about a young person who opened their own business without help is really interesting and may encourage others to do the same. Therefore, the media should pay more attention to everyday people.

In conclusion, although celebrities’ lives may be exciting, I hope the media starts publishing more useful information and focuses more on ordinary people to improve our society, because their stories can influence ordinary people.