Write about the following topic. It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Child development is a sensitive topic that has gained a lot of attention these days. Reading is a habit that has long term benefits, hence every parent wants his offspring to read. However, this has never been easier due to a number of reasons. This essay will examine those reasons in detail and will suggest few solutions that can probably promote reading in children.

Many people don’t like to read since reading is slow and boring. It takes time and effort to get an idea of what is being presented in a piece of writing compared to other methods like speaking and visual observation. For example, it takes plenty of hours, and even days sometime, to read a novel whereas a movie based on the same novel can be seen in just 2 hours. Furthermore, it could be boring to read since everything must be written like emotions, stage, scene, and situation unlike visual presention. Hence, writter must be sufficiently proficient at writing to maintain interest of reader which is rarely possible. That is why it is hard to keep reading, hence developing a reading habit.

Even though developing a reading habit in children is hard, parent can adapt plenty of strategies to do so, such as indirect incentives and leading by example. Incentives undisputably has been definitely successful to get children do something. Making extra pocket money by writing summary blogs regarding books, for instance, can encourage teenagers to read books. Another strategy that works particularly for children is to lead them by example. By looking at their parents praying to God, for instance, children develop interest in praying on their own. Hence, development of reading habit is hard but not impossible.

In conclusion, reading habit development is fruitful in longer run, though harder to develop. However, techniques like setting example or offering reward can promote reading in children.