Write about the following topic. Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people's health and capacity for work? Give reasons for your answer and include anyrelevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Colours have always been an integral part of our life. From the very childhood people are surrounded by them, forming their own colour preferences and creating their way of self-expression, but is it important for offices and hospitals to use creativity while choosing the design of its space? Due to the fact, that these both are public places, it becomes evident that the role of colours is crucial.

Firstly, it’s vital for people who work in the offices to have calm pastel shades around them, so that theycould concentrate on work without getting distracted by bright colours, which usually make people feel uncomfortable, and, thus, influence on their mood. Following this simple step, people will manage to do their work faster, and what’s more important more efficiently.

However, concerning hospitals, there are some exceptions. For instance, for kids it’s better to use numerous patterns and colourful wallpapers in the design. This decision will create a peaceful atmosphere which will help them to stand their treatment, which is not always pleasant. Moreover, it also can cause a positive effect on the hospital staff, especially after a hard work day. Just looking at some colourful pictures can make them feel less stressed. On the other hand, when it comes to adults it’s much better to paint the rooms into pastel shades, because the only thing that people, suffering from different serious diseases or just recovering after a hard surgery want is to finally become a healthy person again, so to make sure that patients feel good, it’s better to create a relaxing environment.

In conclusion, it can’t be argued that the direct link between colour and people’s mood exists. Knowing this fact, designers can create necessary decoration for different kind of places.