Write about the following topic. When talking about success, we often think of people who are rich or famous. In your opinion, what are the qualities that characterise a successful person? Why do you think these should be the criteria? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

An extravagant celebrity is what people may visualise whenever they discuss what drives a person who has done great things. A successful individual in my opinion, however, showcases no glitter and glamour but strong personal traits such as compassion, motivation and dedication because these factors have driven humanity for centuries.

The most characteristic trait of someone successful is compassion. Love, which has always been a great power of humanity, continues to be the source that holds families and communities together. It is because of kindness and warmth that people still find a purpose in life and therefore push their success forward. Charity organisations, for example, cannot thrive without their volunteers and it is often in these loving people we see new heroes, inspiring others to contribute to great things as well.

One cannot truly aspire to achievement without motivation, though, making this a second important characteristic of success. Without enthusiasm, there is no solid ground to chase results and the chances that someone can reach competitive targets are slim. When I take myself as an example, I need to be interested in a topic to become engaged and work hard towards a goal. If I barely care about it, it is incredibly hard for me to achieve something significantly.

Last but not least, there needs to be a certain amount of dedication to strive towards success. If someone can spend all their time and effort to work on a specific goal, there is an increasing certainty that this person will turn out to be a great success in what he or she does. New research even shows that organisations who allow their staff to be dedicated to a topic often excel in that area with great benefits for the company as well.

In conclusion, dusting off the glitters of success often seen among the rich and famous, I am convinced the factors compassion, motivation and dedication determine whether someone is capable of achieving great things.