Write about the following topic. Write at least 250 words. Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some people believe that investment by the government in arts is a wase of money because it can be better suited for public services instead. This essay will argue that why is it crucial for the governments to keep investing in arts, such as music and theatre, instead of allocating these reserves of money for other public services that directly benefit the public.

Proponents of the believe that government should not put aside a budget for arts contend that there are more befitting areas where governments can spend the money on, which would better cater to the public, rather than spending on forms of arts like music or theatre. Having money spent on arts is considered wasteful when the humanity is seen suffering and being deprived of basic necessities of life such as medical facilities, food and shelter. Therefore, some people are of the view that despite of investing money on arts, it should rather be utilized for the pressing needs of the society. For example, millions of people are dying of ailments and hunger in developing countries like India. This prospect compels some people to believe that this money should cater to those in need, rather being spent on entertainment.

Opponents of this view, including myself, believe that the areas which are seen as unnecessary for government funding, including arts; in a way are of service to the needy people of the country. Various forms of arts like music and theatre, if the turn-out is good, can generate revenue, which will be then allocated towards catering the people who are more in need, keeping the money in circulation in a society or a country. For example, governments globally keep aside a budget for arts every year. Thus, it helps the lesser privileged people in an indirect way.

In conclusion, this essay argued if money should be spent on seemingly unnecessary forms of arts like theatre and music. However, I am of the opinion that it is in no way a waste of money and governments should wisely invest in it, benefitting the parts of the society that could use more funds through them.