Write about the following topic. Some people believe that professional sportsmen and women are paid too much money nowadays in relation to their usefulness to society. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Are professional sportsmen and sportswomen paid too much? There is a widespread belief that professional athletes are overpaid in relation to their contribution to society. This essay aims to figure out whether this opinion is true or not. We will inspect the role of sportsmen and sportswomen in society and their potential earnings. Moreover, We discuss other professions that are vital for society. Do these people earn a lot? Finally, we will conclude whether this is a possible jealousy or if society is fairly paying them for their role.

Do we know how much athletes earn? Yes, we can Google it and find articles, ask ChatGPT, or be fancier and try to use DeepSeek. However, we often only get part of the information. Once, I tried to Google it and realised how challenging is it to find such information. Thank god I’m not their tax inspector. Athletes work incredibly hard to become trendsetters and motivate others by showing their path to success. They fully understand that their careers could end suddenly due to a single sports injury. Additionally, different sports have age limits. I am against ageism. Unfortunately, this sphere still has such standards which is very annoying. Undestanding such risks these people focus on investing, collaborations, and creating businesses to build a “golden parachute.” This diversification makes it difficult to identify their true profit. To my mind, even tax inspectors might not know the real numbers.

What about other jobs? There are many essential jobs. You can ask why they are so important. And the answer is quite simple – society just can not survive without it. For instance: doctors in Ukraine. The cost of their knowledge is many years in university and then a few years of internship plus a whole life of learning and improving their skills. Do they earn so much? I can not agree that 50 to 200 pounds is a fair salary for people who work so much to protect our society from death. Or teachers who spend days and nights to give knowledge to the next generation and get mostly the same salary. I am deeply sorry for

There are many critical jobs in our society with extremely low salaries. In my opinion, we need to put effort into changing this, but it is not a reason to claim that athletes earn too much. They work incredibly hard to be the best, often creating their own businesses to build a ‘golden parachute’ for their future. Furthermore, they inspire younger generations to live healthy lives and show the path to success through hard work—sometimes even through great pain.