Write about the following topic: In many parts of the world, shopping is no longer a way that people buy things that they need, and it has been developed into a form of entertainment. What are the reasons for this development? Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Around the globe, the idea of shopping has changed from buying necessary goods into a sort of pleasure and fun activity. The increase in peoples living conditions is the main cause for such a change and it being a positive effect will be discussed in this essay.

First and foremost, the main reason for such a change is because of the rise in the standard of living. With greater income, consumers generaly prefer to buy things which are more expensive as they feel they need to fit into high society. People spend time on shops which are costlier so as to spend their dollars. To cite an example, designer brands like Gucci and Prada are in trend as a great number of consumers buy their products just for satisfaction.

Moreover, these changes are a plus point and do not cause any harm as they are useful in increasing the overall market of a country. Most sections of society prefer splurging their money for their own entertainment as they make more than they can spend. This will boost a country’s national income which in turn helps in the development of the nation. For example, Japan’s advancement in all spheres of life is soley due to their greater number of shoppers.

In conclusion, shopping has brough forth a major benefit of increasing the wealth of a country and also has been considered as a way to spend their time.