Write about the following topic: In the last decade, there has been a great increase in global air travel. What do you think are the reasons for this and do you think it is a good thing?

Travelling by air is the fastest way to move across countries and continents. Globally, air travel has increased significantly over the last 10 years, and several factors are responsible for this. I believe that more and more global travel by air is a sign of progress.

Immigration is one of the major reasons for global air travel. In the last decade, an increasing number of people have had to immigrate into new countries and continents due to new job opportunities, marriage, or even insecurity. Travelling by air is the fastest means of transportation and accessible to all, so it makes sense for people to opt for it when the need arises. In most cases, when people immigrate into a new country, they still have families in their home countries. This implies that they will return to visit their families, and their families can also travel to visit them. This further increases the use of air travel.

Another reason for increased air travel is studying abroad. In the last 10 years, more and more people have become open to the concept of studying abroad. Getting a degree in another country or on a different continent will require traveling by air due to the distance involved. International students for instance will also travel by air to their home countries during school breaks, further increasing air travel.

In conclusion, there has been a noticeable rise in air travel in the last decade. The increase in air travel can be linked to an increase in immigration and studying abroad. I believe that increased global travel by air is indicative of intercultural and economic progression.