Write about the following topic: Some psychologists claim that the basic reason for violent crimes among young people is that they are not getting the social and emotional learning they need from parents and teachers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

I agree, because most violent crimes, for example bullying, happen because they don’t get enough attention from their parents. Most students do bullying just to find validation or attention from others. In most cases the reason they do bullying is because their parents don’t even care they exist or the teacher in school doesn’t give them attention but gave more attention to other students.

A case in Indonesia where a highschool student uses molotov to burn a mosque when his friends and teacher are doing Friday prayer. The reason he does it is because in school the teacher and the other students don’t give him the attention that he needs. The other students said that he is a “quiet student”, it is because he doesn’t talk often and the attention is so low that made him become a quiet student. Also his parents have lack of attention towards him, making him watching violent videos and causing him to think doing this is fun.

Another case in Indonesia where a high school student made a video of his friend beating up his other friend. After it was investigated the cause of him beating up his friend was because he was stressed at home and wanted to relieve his stress by doing violence to his friends. In the video it was his first time using violence towards him but bullying him was often. Meaning that his parents gave lack of social and emotional learning or attention causing him to be stressed and bully his friend.

In conclusion, I do believe that lack of social and emotional learning can cause young people to commit violent crimes as most violent crimes have the same reason of lack of attention from their parents or teachers.