Write about the following topic: The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, due to the major technological improvements in communication, people’s communication habits had a considerable change. People usually use social media to communicate with their friends in a more convenient way. Some people support this communication type due to its convenience however, some people think that social media affects our communication negatively. So is the social media a great tool for communication.

First of all, as I mentioned earlier technological improvements had changed our daily life habits significantly. Due to their ease in daily life, almost every people use these techonological improvements. In addition, technology breaks the distance barrier among people. For instance, a young student who studies abroad can communicate with his or her relatives easily by using social media applications or a person who travels constantly for work can keep in touch with his or her family during the work trip. Moreover, social media can maintain friendships. For example, a group of friends can still communicate with each other even they have graduated from school or any other occasion that split them.

On the other hand, social media and technology can affect people’s verbal communication skills negatively or they can push people into an asocial life. For example, many young people in America surf in the social media for 9 hours every day. Because of the high usage of social media, many teenager call themselves asocial, depressed or anxious. Furthermore, social media affects little children’s social skills too. Many young children who can access internet and social media usually spend their whole day on social media. This addiction affects their verbal communication and social skills negatively. Due to these effects, their career life can be tumultuous.

In my opinion, we should use these technological improvements for make our lives easier but we ought to use them by causing no harm to ourselves.