Write about the following topic: The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Social media changed the communication habits of the society, and it is oftenly argued that this change is either positive or negative. It can be said that both of the statements have some arguable points.

Technology and internet definitely easened up our lives in multiple aspects. This can also be said about communication among the people. First of all, it sure has increased how much we contact eachother. Since, everybody has some posts or opinions to share on social media replying to them got easier and faster. So it can be said that, it can help us improve our relationships by communicating with our friends even about small things. For example, nowadays it does not require any effort to message a friend, it can be done by sending an Instagram post and starting a conversation about it.

The other aspect of the social media in our lives is, most people are so addicted to it, they basically living their lives according to that. People started to think “Where should I go?” or “What should I wear?” considering what they might post on social media. This attitude makes people do fake things just to share, and it does damage their friendships and how they are perceived. In addition to that, now social media platforms are usually used to show off your social status and financial posessions. Such as which restaurants or bags someone can afford. Thus, social media can be seen as negative impact on society while the only reason for that is power play among other users.

In my opinion, social media has a positive effect on how we communicate with other people, however usage of it is gone a little overboard. This makes it less usable for the people that has not enough power to show, which is not the first objective of these platforms.