Write about the following topic: The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In modern times, the internet has revolutionized the way people communicate, allowing for long distance communication through chats and video conferences. However, while this can be greatly beneficial, it can also hinder how we communicate in person. I believe that both online and in person communication should be utilized to gain the maximum benefit of both methods of communication.

Using the internet, people are able to communicate with their loved ones anywhere in the world. Moreover, The internet alleviates the challenges of maintaining long distance relations through video call and texting platforms. In addition, such platforms allow for ease of communication among people. Furthermore, for people who feel that phone calls might be socially demanding, texting can breach that exhaustion by providing a faster and less socially draining method of conversing. However, communicating through these methods can start to have a negative effect on people.

Communicating online can make conversations emotionless, denying the natural social behaviors an in person conversation has. In addition, communication through the internet can hinder relationship progression, as it lacks the physical or vocal aspects, when texting, that in person or over the phone conversations would have.

However, I believe that both methods can be used together to further enhance the way we communicate. Using the internet, a person can meet new people from around the world, and start building new relationships. Furthermore, these relationships, if built solidly, can transition into in person relations. Additionally, for that to happen one needs to be socially ready to handle a phone conversation or in person communication. Therefore, it is plausible to assume that regularly conversing offline can further strengthen one’s ability to build friendships across the internet.

In my opinion, I believe that the internet provides a tool to communicate worldwide, and if used correctly along with traditional conversing methods, can provide a greater benefit when it comes to communication.