Write an essay of about 350 words on the following topic. Some believe that artificial intelligence (AI) should never fully replace human roles, especially in fields that require empathy and complex decision-making, as it could lead to a loss of human touch and ethical concerns. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The advent of artificial intelligence has recently sparked a heated debate over whether it can fully supersede human roles. Many people claim that AI should never take over particular fields, in which empathy and sophisticated decision-making are demanded, on the grounds of potential ethical issues, whilst others hold opposing perspectives. Personally, while I believe that AI can automate a lot of tedious tasks, there are some areas that remain in the domain of humans’ cognitive and empathetic capacity.

On the one hand, artificial intelligence brings out enormous merits for people in terms of repetitive activities. AI models have demonstrated their immense potential and competency in dealing with cognitive tasks such as chatting and answering users’ questions, as well as organizing ideas and providing suggestions for various sorts of things. In the realm of scientific and medical research, experts can assign the work of simulating and experimenting huge amounts of input data and evaluating the empirical results, thereby saving them a lot of time and effort while they can utilize the machine’s sample findings as foundations for further researching. A myriad of new drugs and medicines have been invented and tested thanks to the help of artificial intelligence system, remarkably enhancing medical development. Therefore, AI can indeed supplement human activities in science and technology, discovering new opportunities and breaking new grounds to benefit humanity.

On the other hand, there are specific professions that ought to remain untouched by artificial intelligence. The creative and artistic community has protested against the use of AI in their field ever since its emergence, pointing to the fact that it can steal their hard work and original ideas without actually creating meaningful artworks. The same goes with the field of literature, where many authors also reject artificial intelligence, claiming it to be “an upgrade of plagiarism”. In addition, a lot of processes require deep critical thinking and cautious decision-making. Insightful as AI may seem, it cannot truly think like humans, and many people are mistaken into believing that it can make decisions for us. It is essentially incapable of such complex activities and it relies on humans for its algorithms, thus complicated issues should still be handled by careful humans. Without any real ability to analyze and make logical conclusions, artificial intelligence will never be able to supplant humans in decision-making and will only induce moral problems if we let it do so.

In the final analysis, despite the massive potential presented by artificial intelligence, I firmly agree that this technology can only take over several areas and should merely remain an assistant for humans in such fields. In the landscape of creative works and more complex processes, however, AI ought not to replace the role of humans. Yet should AI continue to evolve in the future, may our current perspective about it change again.