Writing Task 2 You should spend 40 minutes on this task. Write on the following topic: Some people feel that governments should take a large proportion of people's salaries to pay for necessary public services such as roads and schools. Others feel that high taxes are a bad thing. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Public services taxes are becoming an increasingly serious discussion topic in many developed countries, particularly in North America and Europe. This problem is very often associated with universal health care, high quality of public schools, etc, but on the other hand with very high rates of income taxes. This essay will view in depth both sides of the problem, and in the end, I will share my personal opinion.

On the one hand, opponents of this idea support the theory that in some European countries, the income tax is too high. For instance, such countries are Germany and Austria, where these rates might be 40% of a salary. However, the quality is not always perfect, e.g. in Bulgaria, a member-state of the European Union, the quality of public healthcare services is one the poorest in the developed world.

On the other hand, the income tax rate in Bulgaria is only 10% of the salary. Looking at France and Germany, where this number is 40%, the quality of public services is pretty high and users are almost always satisfied with it.

Furthermore, personal bankruptcy is not necessary in a case of medical condition or need for education. For example, in North America, the expenses of medical healthcare can end up to $ 10,000. That’s unbelievable. Universal healthcare guarantees that everybody has the right to medical observation when it is needed. Moreover, in most European countries, public institutions for higher education are much better than private ones. In the United States that is impossible because university tuition fees are thousands of dollars annually.

In conclusion, I believe that the benefits of higher public service taxes outweigh the disadvantages. In my opinion, everyone should be able to get normal healthcare and education.