WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

There has been a huge improvement in the medical industry and due to this improvement we have been able to invent medicines for diseases that humanity suffered from for a long time, however, this was not easy. Discoveries in the medical field came with great cost, whether it was financially or the effort put in by scientists. Consequently, drugs that are based on these discoveries will be expensive. Many people in poor countries cannot afford buying these drugs. So Should medicine companies make their products available at more reasonable prices in these countries?

Some may think why we can’t just make it free, first as I said earlier developing these drugs requires a lot of money to be spent on. for this reason, they need to sell their products at reasonable prices to generate profit, some of which will be spent on remaking medicines for other users, and of course some will be returning to the shareholders. As these organizations are not non-profit ones, they invest in the industry because they see a potential in it earning them more money.

Moving on, as we agreed that we agreed that drug companies cannot sell their products for free, however, I believe that they reduce their prices for critical diseases, for example, drug X is used to cure fever, and drug Y is used to cure diabetes. What I think they should do they should lower the price for product Y and raise the price for product X, in this way companies won’t notice a negative difference in their revenue, moreover, people who suffer from critical diseases can probably afford the medication, and people will not mind the raise in fever drug as it is already low, and they won’t mind helping ones in need.

To sum up, I believe that drug companies should lower the prices for critical diseases, and instead put the price difference in drugs that are not very essential, in this way, we can all help poor people in need.