Writing Task 2: You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people believe that zoos serve as an important role in wildlife conservation. Others argue that they are cruel and should be shut down. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

For many years, zoos have played a vital role in wildlife conservation by raising awareness on animals and processing artificial breeding. However, others argue that they are mean and should be closed due to animal retention and utilizing them for entertaining purposes. This essay will discuss both perspectives and the author’s opinion will be given.

On the one hand, zoos have promoted wild animal conservation by increasing wildlife awareness. Zoos are normally available in many cities and people usually spend their weekends there to watch animals. Without zoos, people would have no opportunity to be engaged in wild animals. Additionally, zoos also play a key role in breeding, as they know breeding method of each creature, which consequently will reduce animal extinction. Pandas, for example, are endangered but the Chinese government has been promoting their breeding, making the situation better.

On the other hand, some thinks that zoos are cruel as they can be also considered as a giant prison for animals. Some of them are captured from other countries and transported into a zoo. This can make these animals uncomfortable due to unfamiliar climate and food. Some animals like elephants or tigers would suffer from a totally different climate in an English zoo. Furthermore, animals have been used to entertain visitors by performing shows, which certainly demonstrate their cleverness but trainings might involve some punishments as well.

In conclusion, some benefits of zoos are helping people study wildlife animals and assisting their breeding. Nonetheless, some disadvantages of them are capturing varied animals from different places and training them for entertainment. In my opinion, striking a balance is essential, zoos should still operate to raise wildlife awareness and promote the diversity by artificial breeding. However, regulations should be imposed to allow only compatible animals and prohibiting animal abuse in a zoo.