You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In majority of countries, most of students are showing lack of interest in selecting subjects related to Science. The main causes are high university fees for Science related studies and the lazy nature of youth in taking time consuming subjects. The effects are lack of scientific professionals and hindrance in scientific progress.

Majority of students are not taking science studies due to high fees and lazy nature. The high fee structure by most universities for offering science related programs causes a majority of students to not persue in this field because they cannot afford such high fee structures. Also,the youth wants to not uptake time and brain consuming programs and prefers slothful behaviour. For Example, in Japan the majority of work force are above 40 and only 20% of youth is into the workforce as compared to 1970s when 80% of workforce was comprised of youth.

The effects are lack of professionals in scientific fields and slowing down of scientific progress.As, more of the students are prefering arts and non-scientific courses so it is leading to a lack of professionals in respective fields of science and technology for research and thus, due to no trained employees for respective fields, there is a decrease in research and scientific progress without which the wheel of humanity will cease to move.For instance, the scientific researches related to expeditions for search of Yetis in himalayas have seen a huge decline since 1980s as compared to before 1980s when there were numerous expeditons being conducted.

In the end, I will conclude that high fees and lazy behaviour in students is leading cause for not opting scientific programs for higher education leading to lack of professional experts in respective fields and posing a hindrance to scientific progress.