You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write at least 250 words.Write about the following topic: Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In most countries, English is taught as a second language rather than their own local language. Some people think these languages need to be passed to future generations or else they will stop existing. However, personally I think knowing English is more relevant than learning a local language.

Nowadays, society is more connected than ever. News, gossip, and events travel more rapidly since the invention of social media. English works as a universal language between people who speak different tongues because of globalization. For instance, I was taught English during high school, even though my native tongue is Spanish and the second most common language in Peru is Quechua.

Another important aspect to consider is that there is much important literature written in English, and most of it is not translated. Many people read news, magazines and research papers that are only available in English. An example of this is that, while I was in college, many of my compulsory lectures were in English because there was no other way students would access to those contents.

On another hand, local languages are part of who we are and must not be forgotten. Government initiatives should take this matter in consideration and ensure their survival. It is important for everyone to acknowledge their home town languages and recognize their cultural significance. Local tongues should be preserved, without disregarding the importance of the English language.

To sum up, local languages are part of tradition, but knowing English basically is a requirement to communicate with people in other countries and have access to different books and opinions. This does not mean that local languages are not important, but they should not be prioritized over the English language.