You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write at least 250 words. The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is believed that many elders often have traditional opinions about living, thinking and behaving. However, some individuals assume that it is unavailable for teenagers in today’s society. I partly agree that some viewpoints can hinder, but the value of tradition brings several benefits.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why traditional ideas are not suitable for today’s technological world. First of all, the older generations have high demand for their children in order to follow stable careers such as doctors, engineers, teachers, etc. This can reduce their creativity, personal freedom of choice, and passion. Secondly, the older generations often have conservative thinking and resist the renovation. For example, in today’s technological era, young generations consider flexible ability and creative thinking are the key to growing up.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why traditional culture and morality from the old generations are an essential background for teenagers to develop. Firstly, hard-working, persistent, respect for others and responsibility are the important factors that help teenagers overcome difficulty, and build sustainable relationships. Furthermore, values such as respect for elders, filial piety, and multigenerational family models provide young people with emotional stability and reduce the pressures of modern life. For instance, after a tiring day at work, the warm atmosphere of dinner helps them relieve the stress of facing societal challenges.

In conclusion, although the traditional opinions or excessive imposition can reduce the younger generations’ development, the values of morality and experiments from the older generations are still an invaluable key for teenagers.