You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Thanks to the advancements in technology and different gadgets our life is easier than it used to be and needless to say in today’s world it has become common to see many children spending time with their smartphones. They use it for various purposes such as socializing with friends online, and for entertainment, however, I think this is negative development as it wastes time and can lead to some concerns.

One reason why children spend many hours on their smartphones is their easy access to social media. Social media platforms such as Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram provide children with a platform to connect with their peers and share their daily experiences. They can chat, and share photos and videos, and this way they can keep in touch with. This can be positive in some instances, but it can be harmful to a great extent as children can be exposed to cyberbullying, inappropriate content, and even addiction to social media and spend hours of time online rather than doing their home assignments.

Another reason why children are engaged in their mobile phones is that they download games and play them when they get bored or watch videos in You tube or shorts on the internet. This can be positive if they use it for entertainment purposes when they want to get rid of their exhaustion or daily stress this way, but the worst aspect of this is that they get addicted to them and spend their precious time otherwise could be spent for studying. Furthermore, children do not know how to distinguish good and bad videos, in some cases they may watch ones which affect badly to their behavior.

In conclusion, given to the reasons why children use their phones much, like keeping in touch with friends and entertaining facilities it is a bad thing because mostly they spend their valuable time and they may be phished through online tricks.