You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

Many media outlets often focus on problematic news and emergencies, which can lead to various issues for the population that consumes this content. Constant exposure to negative news can significantly affect mental health. Many mental health disorders are caused by the influx of negative energy that leads our minds to become pessimistic.

For instance, research on how positive and negative words affect water molecules shows that water exposed only to negative words appears visually unattractive, while water exposed to positive words looks beautiful. This experiment suggests that humans should not exclusively absorb negative messages.

Furthermore, the negative side of media reporting can influence some people to imitate the actions of the perpetrators featured in the news, which may contribute to a higher tendency towards terrorism. It is often observed that many criminal acts are repeated over and over again in the media. Given that people have various mindsets, it’s common for individuals to be distracted by different types of media.

In addition, positive reporting in social media can also have a beneficial influence on people. It’s important for children to learn from the news and receive positive energy to enhance their mental well-being and foster optimism. Relying solely on harmful news makes it more challenging for educators to find positive examples to teach children.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that social media filled with emergency cases and negative energy is detrimental to individuals, particularly to young children.