You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

University is usually the last stage of formal education for most of us. Majority of people who select theirs majors in universities are not well-aware of the course contents and sometimes find them boring due to which they get the urge to try different subjects. However, this can result in loss of important core subjects that are actually important for the qualification or degree that you opted for in the beginning.

So, why we actually must have a good grip in core subjects of our majors? The answer is simple, that’s because after graduation, when you become part of the job market, the employer expects the candidate to be proficient in the subjects that were crucial for your qualification or degree. Like, if a fresh graduate with majors in Electrical Engineering is not good in circuits, then the employer will simply not hire him even if he was good in the painting subject during his studies.

Despite the fact, that selecting additional subjects other than main ones can affect negatively during the interview, but this must not be sidelined that diverse knowledge is appreciated by many. Plus, if the additional subject seems interesting to the person, then he or she can opt for more subjects related to that particular field. Later, he can even completely change the majors of the qualification at the end. Even if, the change of qualification is not possible, still the person can gain the necessary skills to pursue a full time profession related to that subject.

I believe, it is better to learn something that excites you more rather than sticking to the qualification which seems boring to you. That’s because, studying subjects with little interest and then pursuing a career in it can result in lack of achievement in long run and can lead to dissatisfactory work life. So, enroll yourselves in subjects that you actually want to learn and try to gain adequate skills related to that field that can help you pursue a career in it.