You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

University is the next important step in a person’s life, from entering first grade to high school. While in high school, subjects like maths or science were mandatory, but in university students now have more freedom. However, some people say it’s a bad idea, while others think that all university students should study whatever they like. There are advantages and disadvantages to both views, and I will try to present them in a balanced way.

On the one hand, some people think that university students should study whatever they like. They argue that studying something you love can have many benefits, such as enhancing learning performance as you will be more interested and motivated by the course content. It can also develop your skills, both academic and transferable, such as critical thinking, creativity, communication and problem-solving.

But on the other hand, some people believe that university students should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future. They argue that studying something practical can have many benefits, such as increasing your employability and career opportunities, as you will acquire skills that are in high demand in the current job market. As you get a more stable job, your financial stability is improved from higher competitive wages. A more stable job also prepares you for the changing and uncertain future.

In my opinion, there is no definitive answer to this question, as both views have valid points and drawbacks. I think that the best choice depends on the individual student’s preferences, goals, and circumstances.