You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There are conflicting arguments about whether students should study their major subjects for a qualification or should focus on other subjects. However, in my opinion, they should focus on their majors rather than adding other subjects.

On the first hand, some students may want to broaden their knowledge or skills such as arts, music or poetry. Therefore, studying those extra subjects helps some of the students to enhance their hobbies and further expand them as a passion and a source of income as well. Not all students are able to be academically brilliant. That’s why, they tend to focus on other subjects that interest them. For instance, you do not need certain degrees or certificates to be a painter, singer or musician as long as you have skills in that particular field.

On the other hand, certain businesses or companies require qualifications to hire for a job. In this case, students who want to work in a corporate job may not be able to get the placement. Thus, they should offer more of their time and effort to study for achieving qualification. Moreover, it might be difficult to manage time for both the subjects which consequently results in atrocious academic performance.

I believe that students should invest their time and effort in studying the main subjects because University courses are extremely costly and it will be a total waste of time and finances if a student fails to achieve a degree. Furthermore, skills can be learnt later as well but if they have a degree in a certain subject then it is attributed for a safe future.

To sum up, it is essential to learn other subjects along with their majors but it might be difficult to manage time for a student to do so and a burden which results in a awful performance in both subjects. Thus, they should study and concentrate on major subjects only.