You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: For a long time art has been considered an essential part of all cultures in the world. However, nowadays people's values have changed, and we tend to consider science, technology and business more important than arts. What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to draw people's attention to art? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Today’s world’s rapid development has introduced new values to all countries around the globe, those of technical and economic matter, thus leaving fine arts behind. The reasons for that lay in the changes of time, although it’s still in our power to invoke people’s interest to artistic pieces.

To begin with, taking a glimpse back in the previous centuries, one can see that the most knowledgeable European citizens, for instance, were those well-educated in such spheres of life as literature, languages, dance, painting and etiquette. Such tendency occurred due to wealthy residents having an enormous amount of spare time and funds gained through heritage. Nowadays the vast majority has equal backgrounds and in order to succeed all of us need to work hard gaining skills that enable us to get a well-paid job. And as the world is focused on developing cutting-edge technologies, those skills are straightforwardly connected with business, IT and science. The necessary amount of such knowledge leads to people having neither time nor desire for extra ephemeral insights of art.

To further elaborate on this idea, another tendency of modern days is consumerism. Countless companies are working from dusk till dawn to provide consumers with goods and services that are practically valid. It is all depicted trough media and advertisement, therefore leaving us with no choice but to play along and also consider the mass-market trends our priority. Art, on the contrary, is sophisticated and unique, hence it can not possibly be produced in vast amounts in a short period of time. Consequently, it doesn’t stand its ground in a race with general cheap thrills tendency and falls behind.

Although the grip of dictated trends seems to be supremely tight, there are a few things that can be done to bring back people’s passion for creativity back to life. Firstly, we should fight fire with fire. The craving interest for IT and science has risen amongst minds via media, so fine arts should simply become trendy and popular. For example, major influencers online may collaborate with museums and theaters to promote exhibitions and plays. Secondly, creative activities are not considered to be lucrative. However, if governments support artists and expand the pool of creative jobs it will raise citizens’ interest and result in them becoming equally immersed in art.

In conclusion, while the flow of time inevitably makes people engaged in mostly science, business and technologies, fine arts should not be completely neglected. Our responsibility lies in preserving the beauty of creativity by popularizing it and governmentally supporting the creators.