You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the fast-paced world that we presently reside in, selecting the subjects for study is important. However, there is a debate that which subject needs to be selected that benefits the students most. I believe that one needs to select different courses along with their regular subjects that are not part of the curriculum as it has many benefits when compared to just reading from a set of limited books.

Those who argue that students need to learn extra subjects apart from their syllabus have a point. Firstly, reading a variety of books helps learners build a stronger vocabulary, which will in turn help the students in later stages of their careers or life. Additionally, the books that they are reading can inspire them to lead a different way of life. For instance, an autobiography from a famous person has helped many young and old people to get motivated and also develop some new skills. A person who reads from multiple books will not have spare time.

Even though, reading from a variety of books has its benefits, paying attention and studying books which are compulsory subjects has its perks. When a student is made to learn only for their qualification it provides good grades and gives a sense of self accomplishment. For example, a person who studies 1 book can focus and grasp more when compared to someone who reads 4 to 5 books. One can complete reading their books and enjoy their free time doing other activities and pass the time.

In conclusion, reading multiple books enhances a reader’s vocabulary, motivates them, and gives them good grades. This is why in my opinion, students at University should be encouraged to learn various subjects along with their important subjects.