You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South Pole. What are advantages and disadvantages of this development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It has recently come to notice that travelling to places with extreme natural climate, like the South Pole, is now possible for both research and tourism purposes. While this discovery is exciting and world-breaking, we must acknowledge both the strengths and limitations of this development. This essay shall further discuss the same with some illustrations.

Travelling to places like the South Pole allows humans to embark upon and experience various extraordinary phenomenons, including; glancing at the Northern lights (Aurora), observing and understanding polar bears and penguins in their natural habitats, and discovering new species of plants and animals. However, although it allows individuals to connect to nature on a deeper level, the environment can be damaged by the means people may use to travel to the place. The possibilities of humans forming train stations, airports, roads and more, may seem like a distant possibility now, but can be plausible in the future.

Another advantage is that the money earned from tourism can aid in increasing research funding in this area. More researchers may become interested in conducting studies in this region, and this can lead to further explanations and new discoveries of the habitat. This money can also help in restoration of the site to it’s original habitat. Damaged areas in the Pole due to landslides or global warming, could be attempted to be fixed.

Moreover, human beings understanding the habits and culture of animals can ensure them having a better survival rate. People can prevent predators attacking the baby animals. Constrastingly, this could result in disruption of the natural cycle. Additionally, increase in tourism can result in formation of tourist spots, which can damage the surrounding and endanger both the species living there and the ones visiting.

On the whole, while the possibility of visiting the South Pole sounds wonderful, it is important to acknowlege the harm one might cause the environment by doing so.