You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some undergraduated students wish that they can learn multiple subjects besides their major subjects. On the other hand, there are still a lot of students who want to focus only on a main qualification.

First of all, learning additional subjects may helps students not only broaden their horizon about lots of different knowledge but also gives them more job opportunities. This seems to stem from the fact that if students study multiple subjects, they will approach to multiple knowledge too. For example, learning computer science will require students to solve math problems instead of painting while learning art. Therefore, if students apply for both computer science and art, they will have the skills of these two subjects. Additionally, it can also expand students’ job opportunities as they know not only a specific skill. It can be easily seen in recruiters, who want to find talented employees, especially when they have a lot of talents. For instance, a chef who knows both how to cook well and how to promote their food being popular should be better than one who just knows how to cook.

However, if students learn a lot of different subjects but they cannot master any one specific subject, they need to reduce the subjects which they are learning. This is primarily due to the time they spend on study being restricted. This problem can be tackled by focusing on a specific subject and then becoming a professional in this subject. Students will still have a lot of chances to work and easily get promoted because of their rich background of this subject. For example, a chef who master in cooking will better than a chef know both cooking and promoting but they cook not as well as the customers want.

Overall, learning one or more than two subjects besides the main major has advantages. Learning just one specific subject may helps students to be master in this subject. Meanwhile, learning others subjects besides provides them lots of different skills and knowledge.