You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write at least 250 words. Write about the following topic: Is the rapidly increasing number of private cars directly responsible for the rising levels of congestion and air pollution in most cities? What steps can be taken to encourage the use of public transport so as to reverse the trend?

In todays’ world, every person has a car and if we calculate the numbers according to the population, it is shocking. In other words, increase in number of four wheeler is leading to congestion and pollution respectively. Certain measures need to be taken to diminish such devastations which I will be discussing in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, the reason for the growing number of cars is the desire and need for a person to buy it. With advent of technology, different and new models of the vehicles are being discovered and manufactured which are then advertised to attract customers. Additionally, the cost has become much more affordable encouraging even a middle class person to purchase. The other reason is privacy. Adults especially youngsters do not prefer invasion in their privacy. They prefer going to trips on their own which opens the need of new private car.

These needs apparently have adverse effects not only on environment but also on an individual. Due to rapid increase in cars, the roads are blocked, restricting the way to emergency vehicles such as ambulance and fire engine. Moreover, the amount of toxic gases emitted cause air pollution resulting in water pollution. To avoid such problems one needs to use public transport as it substitutes the growing number of automobiles.

To encourage this, there are some prerequisites to be followed. Such as reducing the cost of ticket resulting citizens to get lured to the deflation and opt for bus. Additionally, the number of public vehicles must be increased so as to manage the crowd. Apart from this, certain rules must be devised to limit the purchase of vehicles per person. Thus by taking these measures one can reverse this trend.