You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In recent years, it has been observed that fewer students around the world are choosing sciences as their major. This essay will discuss and observe possible causes of this trend and potential impact of it on the society.

Looking more closely to this issue, one of the potential reasons for this phenomenon may be that science-related careers are being less rewarded in comparison to other fields. For example, current students give preference to the business or art. They believe that pursuing these subjects, offer much more potential for high salary and employment.

However, the causes and effects of this trend are thought to be significant. Decreased number of science graduates may lead to the shortage of the specialists, whose job is very essential. For instance, engineering, environmental science or healthcare. Consequently, this imbalance might slow the technical development of the country. Moreover, there is also an initial risk of ultimate affect on the competitiveness ability of the country on the global stage.

In conclusion, the reduced number of students who study science as a main discipline may be driven by the low reward. This tendency poses essential risks. In order to address the problem, government must have take a range of proactive steps to promote the value of science.