You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The population is increasing at a signficant rate leading to a much more need for variety of foods, a nation replys to this endevour stating insects should be included as a food resource. However, others argue claiming not only is it un-sanitary but also negatively affects the ecosystem. In this essay, I will write the downsides and upsides in my point of view.

Firstly, the insects are known to be numerous this is advantageous because of this they can be used as supplments in the human diet . Moreover, the insects reporduce quickly and grow at a way faster rate than crops to be fully-grown for example the fly takes an estamite time of 2-3 days to be fully grown adults thereby, they can be used as a suppliment of crops just incases of bad harvest caused by uncontrolble events.

However, insects can pose signficant downside to humans for the reason that they are quite un-hygienic, these could lead to severe health issues if consumed which are quite dangerous and also lead to a possible outbreak or even worse an epedmic. For instance, mosquito are known for the outbreak disease malaria a severe diseases that caused millons of fellow human death.

In addition, by taking insects as a food source may negatively impact the ecosystem due to the sheer difference in population between humans and animals. Animals such as frogs and etc. Will be greatly affected this could lead to a decrease in population with insect eating species and also consquently affecting the predotors of the insecting eating species destorying the ecosystem balance.

In conclusion, the benefits of having insects as a food source may seem like an advantage to reduce chances of famine, However, potential outbreaks and breakage of ecosystem seem like a concerning issue.