You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the modern fast-paced world, a significant number of people suffer from stress and various mental health problems. Different factors could contribute to this state, among which are multitasking and social media (culture of comparison and FOMO). To mitigate stress, such measures as slowing down the pace of life, limiting screen time and reduction of the working week should be taken.

Nowadays, there could be a number of different factors that could cause stress. Firstly, multitasking is an integral part of corporate work. Working on numerous tasks simultaneously and switching between them quickly and frequently make our brain put far more effort than concentrating on one task only. Moreover, outside working hours, scrolling through social media has become the main activity of most people. Fear of missing out and comparing one’s own life to a perfect image showcased online make people feel that they have not achieved enough; therefore, causing even more anxiety and stress.

However, there are a few steps that could be taken to combat this issue. Primarily, on the governmental level, a four-day working week should be introduced. This measure will encourage citizens to slow their lives down, spend more quality time with their families and close friends and dedicate time to activities that yield them pleasure. In addition, the reduction of excessive screen time is mandatory. This will not only make room for the activities that will help our organisms produce slow dophamine, but also decrease a person’s exposure to mentally harmful content.

To conclude, stress and anxiety are a growing concern of the society. A lot of factors, which now are an inseparable part of modern life, causes these mental disorders, including the necessity to multitask at work and excessive screen time. However, measures taken on the governmental as well as personal levels could help mitigate stress.