You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The issue of pressure at school has come to the fore in recent years. Indeed, competitiveness at school is undergoing a transformation of far-reaching consequences. While it is widely held that education through a competitive environment incites children to achieve, the reality is arguably that this situation puts an enormous pression on their shoulders. This essay will argue that competitiveness at school prepares children to the harshness of society, even though the right to naivety remains important throughout childhood.

Admittedly, there is a case to be made for advantages of competitive schools, since its prepare children to the harshness of society. Drawing on mountains of evidence, it becomes compellingly clear that to climb the ladder in professional career, being well-prepared at school is a duty. There is no denying that solidarity hinders the success while being invidualist gives rise to success. At school, competitiveness and individualism are materialised through notation in order to turn innate capacities into leadership and performance. It would appear that the birth of charismatic leaders results from this system, despite the pressure generated.

Beyond this, the most significant consideration is that competitive environment remains part of capitalism and avoids some needs of children, such as the right to naivety. This argument is far from trivial, since well-being should be the principal target of our society. There is no shortage of examples illustrating the necessity to let happiness rules the school instead of over-competitiveness. Perhaps most tellingly of them, the Montessori school of thought, encourages people to never be compared to others about who they are intrinsically. It is worth noting that it is what should be school, a knowledge championship, not a comparison between individuals.

Taken together, these considerations point to an inescapable conclusion : even though competitiveness enables to consolidate leadership and performance of children, necessity of happiness should overweight other goals and temperate the schools’ competitiveness. The problem of over-competitiveness at school is not incidental but systemic, and can not be adressed by goodwill alone.