You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people argue that primary schools focus too much on formal learning. To what extent do you agree with this opinion? How important do you think it is for children to play as well as learn in the primary school classroom? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is often argued that primary school places too much emphasis on formal education rather than on other aspects of children’s development. I strongly agree with this view because academic education is essential , but I also believe that play has a crucial role in helping children’s develop in social and creative skills.

I believe that many primary school too much focus on academic subjects. This is because that formal learning, in the most of situations, leads to a decline of children’s mental and physical health. As a result, young people would feel awful and get worse relationships with their family and friends. For instance, they would forget about their private life and hate the process of education at all. Therefore, it is clear that spending too much focus on formal education can affect students in a bad way.

As for the second question, I believe that it is important for children to play as well as learn main subjects to develop their creative and social skills. One of the main reasons is that it will help them to make friends and improve creativity. Furthermore, pupils can find creativity clubs to their liking and make friends with people and communicate with them on various topics related to this activity. Consequently, their mental and physical health will be on a good way. Therefore, children should spend enough time on playing games and improving creative and social skills.

In conclusion, although formal education is necessary, I believe many schools give it too much attention. Children should also have enough opportunities to play because it supports both their academic success and personal development.