You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development? Discuss both views and give your opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

Over the past decade, many countries have put significant efforts in specific sports, training top athletic champions, and seeking international achievements. Many sociologists argue against this strategy, claiming that sports are for everyone, and insisting that the primary goal of any sports competition is to enhance national and international relationships. In this essay, we will discuss both views and clearify why I think that the government should provide sports facilities for all citizens.

Recently, many governments have been looking forward to achieving national glory by competing in international athletic competations, hoping to obtain international ranks and cups. Thus, they are supporting top athletes, through personal sponserships, providing them with highly-respected coaches, moreover, they construct specialized sports facilities. For instace: football stadiums, tennis courts, to help the country share in the global sports events that require these specialized facilities, and furthermore, to surround the athletes by a competitive atmosphere, so they can adapt to the atmosphere found in the international championships. Politician Micheal Samen totally advocates this strategy, stating that there is no harm in pushing our country to compete for global athletic prizes so that every citizen will be proud.

On the other hand, sociologist are warning from the consequances that these new polices will cause, claiming that, if the government only supported the well-known top athletes, the remaining team will be neglicted. Moreover, the new generations will be seeking popular sports game to obtain the government sponsership and the public satisfiction. It is a great loss that so many talented sports players who play less popular sports, will be left undiscovered and unsuported. Dr. John Camden, a sociologist and a researcher from Boston University, insisting that the main goal of any sports is the fun that surrounds a different group of people sharing the same passion, sports are designed to tie the society together and connect different cultures on national and international bases, sports are not business!

I personally agree with Dr. Camden that sports are for pleasure and morals that should pass through generations.

In conclusion, Although, there is nothing wrong with the new strategy that supports top athlets and specific sports, I believe that the government should implement a balanced plane to equally support popular and less popular sports games, moreover, every athletes should be supported from the government and the society to encourage every citizen to enjoy the sports he or she admires.