You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development? Discuss both views and give your opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

When it comes to attaining sporting achievements, there are many arguments over whether countries should construct specialized facilities to coach professional athletes or provide accessible spaces for everyone. This essay aims to analyze both methods to determine whether this development is a positive one or not.

Firstly, some nations build facilities that are specifically designed for one sport to train athletes. Football, or soccer teams, for example, have training grounds that require certain aspects such as pitch size, grass length, soil quality to be of an exceptionally high standard. Such facets often undergo constant maintenance in order to remain in top condition, something that casual football fields cannot match. Some even have dedicated educational programs for young kids entering academies, so they can both study and train simultaneously. While this often means entry can be expensive, and not always accessible to everyone, they are tailor made to create an optimal environment for young athletes to pursue professional sport from as young as seven years of age whilst obtaining their education at the same time.

Conversely, a different approach could be by providing premises that everyone can use. This first allows equal opportunity for everyone who intend to follow a career in a particular sport. While some countries such as Spain or Germany consistently produce top professional footballers through their world class facilities, nations such as Brazil or Argentina often scout young players in the street or casual fields. While playing football in a less professional setting might not give players the best guidance or regime, it instead allows footballers to play with more freedom and express themselves naturally. This not only makes them more eye-catching to scouts, but also enhances their independent problem solving skills and develop more naturally through personal experience, something a specialized academy might not encourage. Players like Neymar and Ronaldinho are testaments to the success of this method, having both grown up playing in the streets before being recruited by scouts to join professional academies at the start of their careers, with the latter winning the prestigious FIFA Ballon d’Or.

To conclude, while many countries achieve sporting success through specially built facilities to coach professional sportspeople, there have been many stories of top athletes starting from a more casual and less regimented setting. While both approaches have their pros and cons, I believe having specialized premises is a positive development because these training grounds provide specific programs suitable for a given sport. Additionally, they also allow athletes to obtain skills that are valuable after their playing days through simulatenously having an education.