You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the last decades, people have a choice in choosing a variation of communication that is convenient for them. They can communicate in real life, while meeting or by using technologies, such as mobile phones, laptops, or other similar things. Nevertheless, some of the population argue that face-to-face communication always remains more important than written communication. I strongly believe that digital communication is more powerful than face-to-face interaction.

To begin with, instant messaging allows society to communicate quickly and without needing to meet. This ability of messengers makes life easier by helping people stay in touch every time and everywhere, which is essential in some situations. For example, when you need to contact someone urgently and this person is too far away or when people who work with another person who has a different time zone, using technologies really benefits them. Therefore, it is a big advantage of written communication.

One of the good points is that text-based communication permits us to collect our thoughts, gather our courage, and convey correctly everything that you want to say. This way is especially important for those who are shy and cannot express their opinion freely. For instance, if someone desires to discuss a serious topic, correspondence becomes the best way to use. So, both sides can consider this problem without the pressure of people’s views.

It is also possible to argue the opposite point of view that approves of the fact about the power of face-to-face communication. Communicating face-to-face is useful when people are worried about another person’s emotions and feelings. Nevertheless, if a word was pronounced with incorrect intonation or was too sharp, it can cause misunderstanding between them. Consequently, although face-to-face communication has its own pros, it can impact a relationship.

I have shown above that face-to-face communication cannot be more powerful than written communication. Therefore, as I mentioned in the introduction, I believe that communicating with message is the best way to represent your thoughts. Using technology makes our life easier.