You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Nowadays, most countries can improve the standard of living through economic development, but some social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In today’s society, due to economic development, the standard of living in most countries can be improved, while some social values are disappeared. In my opinion, whereas this phenomenon provides some benefits, such as a decrease in crime rate, its drawbacks are more serious, as social values play a crucial role in human lives.

On the one hand, when this phenomenon occurs, there will be a plenty of advantages in some aspects. Due to an increase in inflation and lack of resources for production, money losts its values and there is not enough products needed for all population. Therefore, the cost of living has increased significantly compared to the past, and some individuals cannot afford it. This may force them to commit crimes, such as fraud or thefts, as a way to get finance paying for their bills. Thus, when economy is developed, citizens will have more jobs to make money, leading to a relieve from financial burdens. As a result, crime rate will decrease, since people are likely to not involve in illegal activities.

However, I still believe that the disadvantages of this phenomenon outweigh its benefits. Social values play a vital role in society, as it can maintain and ensure the substainble development and the equality of the world. Consequently, if the social values disappeared, society would become unstable and dangerous for citizens to continue to live. For example, to develop economy and get the highest profits, some companies and individuals lose their morals value and choose to use low-quality materials and resources to produce their products, which may impact negatively on their reputations, as well as their costumers’ health and safety. Thus, losing social values cause many serious problems for society and humans.

In conclusion, while this phenomenon provides some benefits, for example, a decrease in crime rate, I believe that its drawbacks far outweigh its advantages. Because this phenomenon may lead businesses produce low-quality products, directly affecting healths of the customers, in order to get the highest profits and develop the economics.